Background Circle Background Circle

Queenie

Queenie


Price: $11.99
(as of Mar 08, 2021 19:55:43 UTC – Details)


ONE OF TIME’S 100 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR
ONE OF NPR’S BEST BOOKS OF 2019

NAMED ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2019 BY WOMAN’S DAY, NEWSDAY, PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, BUSTLE, AND BOOK RIOT!

“[B]rilliant, timely, funny, heartbreaking.” —Jojo Moyes, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Me Before You

For fans of Luster and I May Destroy You, a disarmingly honest, unapologetically black, and undeniably witty debut novel that will speak to those who have gone looking for love and found something very different in its place.

Queenie Jenkins is a twenty-five-year-old Jamaican British woman living in London, straddling two cultures and slotting neatly into neither. She works at a national newspaper, where she’s constantly forced to compare herself to her white middle class peers. After a messy break up from her long-term white boyfriend, Queenie seeks comfort in all the wrong places…including several hazardous men who do a good job of occupying brain space and a bad job of affirming self-worth.

As Queenie careens from one questionable decision to another, she finds herself wondering, “What are you doing? Why are you doing it? Who do you want to be?”—all of the questions today’s woman must face in a world trying to answer them for her.

With “fresh and honest” (Jojo Moyes) prose, Queenie is a remarkably relatable exploration of what it means to be a modern woman searching for meaning in today’s world.

Related Posts
I Promise
I Promise

Price: $11.99(as of Mar 08, 2021 19:55:43 UTC - Details) An Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller! An Instant Indie Bestseller! *An Amazon Best Book Read more

Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Man
Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Man

Price: $11.99(as of Mar 08, 2021 19:55:43 UTC - Details) INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERAn urgent primer on race and racism, from the Read more

Full, Full, Full of Love
Full, Full, Full of Love

Price: $11.99(as of Mar 08, 2021 19:55:43 UTC - Details) Warm illustrations spice up this rhythmical ode to the joys of family and Read more

The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl
The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl

Price: $11.99(as of Mar 08, 2021 19:55:43 UTC - Details) In the best-selling tradition of Sloan Crosley's I Was Told There'd Be Cake Read more

Lola at the Library (Lola Reads)
Lola at the Library (Lola Reads)

Price: $11.99(as of Mar 08, 2021 19:55:43 UTC - Details) Learn about the library, checking out books, and story time with Lola.  Every Read more

Deacon King Kong: A Novel
Deacon King Kong: A Novel

Price: $11.99(as of Mar 08, 2021 19:55:43 UTC - Details) One of Barack Obama's "Favorite Books of the Year"Oprah's Book Club PickNamed one Read more

Dancing in the Wings
Dancing in the Wings

Price: $11.99(as of Mar 08, 2021 19:55:43 UTC - Details) Sassy is a long-legged girl who always has something to say. She wants Read more

Black People Invented Everything: The Deep History of Indigenous Creativity
Black People Invented Everything: The Deep History of Indigenous Creativity

Price: $11.99(as of Mar 08, 2021 19:55:43 UTC - Details) Who invented the traffic light? What about transportation itself? Farming? Art? Modern chemistry? Read more

Hair Love
Hair Love

Price: $11.99(as of Mar 08, 2021 19:55:43 UTC - Details) "I love that Hair Love is highlighting the relationship between a Black father Read more

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

Price: $11.99(as of Mar 08, 2021 19:55:43 UTC - Details) Here is a book as joyous and painful, as mysterious and memorable, as Read more

I Am Enough
I Am Enough

Price: $11.99(as of Mar 08, 2021 19:55:43 UTC - Details) A #1 New York Times bestseller and Goodreads Choice Awards picture book winner! This is Read more

Well-Read Black Girl: Finding Our Stories, Discovering Ourselves
Well-Read Black Girl: Finding Our Stories, Discovering Ourselves

Price: $11.99(as of Mar 08, 2021 19:55:43 UTC - Details) NOMINATED FOR AN NAACP IMAGE AWARD • An inspiring collection of essays by black Read more